Skip to content

writing buddy’s determination trumps snow days and sick kids

January 21, 2011

On Tuesday, I confessed I was worried I would never write a full-length poem again. I’m a drama queen about my muse, of course. (And that’s where it ends. I am a drama queen about nothing else. No matter what you’ve heard. Ha!)

I put my mind to Writing a Full-Length Poem yesterday and got a few lines, but I couldn’t get enough momentum out of them. Jill* is trying to write more, too, and since we sometimes succeed in holding each other accountable, she told me to stay with it. And she set an example by writing a poem herself.

I tried again today again at her insistence, and after many false starts, I got it done. I can’t post this one, but don’t feel let down. The build-up of this post isn’t about the poem — it’s about the encouragement of a writing pal.

It’s been a rough couple of weeks for us as mothers. Between holidays and snow days and sick days, kids have been in school only a handful of days. Even if the muses have been willing, chaos at home has interrupted writing time. But the writing buddy persevered. And the poems are being written!

*Go see Jill’s latest poem here. She’s been out of blogging for a while and worries that no one will make it over to read. I told her, “Puh-shaw! If Jill writes it, they will come!” (So go take a peek, OK? And tell her I sent you.)

12 Comments
  1. January 21, 2011 4:05 pm

    It’s a wonderful poem, too! (As if that’s a surprise :->)

  2. January 21, 2011 4:07 pm

    On my way over to Jill’s. Glad you wrote a whole poem. I have been bad about sitting down and pulling all my bits together. I joined a Twitter group that gets together on Twitter every Tuesday at 9pmEST and writes silently for an hour. Oddly, it works.

    • January 21, 2011 4:11 pm

      that sounds like a great idea, margo! jill and i have done that before. given ourselves an hour to work and then checked back in. how wonderful that there’s a group! and you’ll be so glad you skipped over to jill’s poem!

  3. January 21, 2011 5:16 pm

    Rock on, dear! Sounds like you are pushing through it. “Keep showing up” is my art mantra :).

    I look forward to reading what you are working on. And I liked Jill’s site!

  4. January 21, 2011 7:13 pm

    o my! i can’t believe i have done so much good in the poetry world, as to have helped you write a poem. all i did was say do it. do it do it do it. because if i didn’t have you then where would i be? thanks for you, dude. thanks!

  5. January 21, 2011 10:37 pm

    Great encouragement. Right now I have a dog barking at me to throw her stuffy toy. I can’t imagine getting anything done with kids around. Keep at it, girl.

  6. January 21, 2011 10:58 pm

    If I ever created a long form poem, I’d go into shock. I rarely manage anything longer than a limerick or, at best, a multi-verse limerick. 🙂

  7. January 22, 2011 12:23 am

    *Love it* when you two buds collide. xoxoxo Good things happen. Always. 🙂

  8. January 22, 2011 6:45 am

    Congrats on the full length poem – what an accomplishment!

  9. January 22, 2011 8:51 am

    OK, I never read Elizabeth Gilbert’s book, but a while ago I heard this TED talk she did about creativity that changed my attitude to a surprising degree. Perhaps you’ve heard it, but if you haven’t, it is truly worth 19 minutes of your time. She talks about our muse and how to live with it’s fickle nature. Really good stuff.

  10. January 22, 2011 8:51 am

    Oops, I didn’t think the video would actually post here, sorry. I meant to just put the link!

Comments are closed.

