Skip to content

a new poem about how happy winter makes me

January 25, 2011
tags:

I hope you can hear the sarcasm in the title of this blog post. Not much about winter makes me happy. I do love the snow, but only while it’s falling. It’s not a very practical affection. Here’s a new poem:

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

///

I started off writing about yesterday’s obnoxious temperatures. At the risk of offending every branch on my hardy New England family tree, I am not built for winter, and I am really struggling with it. And of course, the poem is about more than just weather complaints. It is also about people trying to cheer me up about winter (I love you all, anyway!). It is also about relationships. Try to act surprised.

Since it’s an early draft, I’m only partially sure where it’s really going, and I’m not sure the dream in the middle of it works at all. Even for me (and I wrote it), it’s only loosely connected. And the connection is only thematic. Usually when I make leaps like that, I connect them with related images.

3 Comments
  1. January 25, 2011 8:22 am

    This is the English teacher who has been analyzing for twenty years, you understand…the dream seems connected to what follows, if you look at what you say in the dream, yes? For that matter, what starts as metaphor, shifts to dream, shifts to reality. I love when you write the process for us. I think that is an exercise I need to practice. I have never articulated the how, what, why before.

  2. January 25, 2011 9:35 am

    Biting the cheek seems pretty concrete to me. 🙂 It’s a good visceral image (here or in a future poem) because I feel the self-inflicted pain that lingers.

  3. January 27, 2011 3:59 pm

    The chilliness pierces through the whole poem, weather and relationships and dreams and everything else. It’s bad enough round these parts; I can’t even imagine what winter in New England must be like this month.

Comments are closed.

