Skip to content

confession tuesday, january 25

January 25, 2011

I confess that I wanted the women poets on Sunday at the reading I attended to talk about women’s poetics. It is what the initial proposal was to them, but they felt strongly that they wanted to talk as poets about poetics. Intellectually, I understand their objection to the label, and I respect their decision. I even “get” why taking the label off might be the proper feminist thing to do.

But I like the label as an opening to a discussion. I find the differences between men and women as fascinating as I find the differences between cultures and regions. And I like to think about how being a woman influences my own work. This is true even though I sometimes feel like my poetic voice has a masculine quality to it.

I don’t think being a woman poet should define or limit me, but I do think it’s a facet of the creative energy that I express that bears exploring.

(January talks about gender and body poetics in her confession today, too. Use the link at the bottom of this post to read.)

///

I confess I didn’t sleep at all last night. I was troubled by some sad news from our local community, and I couldn’t turn my brain off.

///

I confess that stepping into a college classroom for the first time since 1994 did not feel at all strange. (Last night was the first night of the poking my toe into the graduate level poetry waters.) And I confess that I realized the value of life experience (prior workshops, lots of reading and studying on my own and interacting with fellow hooligans in the blog world). While I know I will learn a lot, I feel very well-prepared.

///

I confess that I used to be one of those dorks who knew everything about the rule books and style books for writing formal papers. And I confess that I know absolutely nothing about how it’s done now. I will give myself a crash course over the next couple of days.

///

And here’s the link to this week’s confessional. Go see what other people are owning up to!

One Comment
  1. January 25, 2011 12:25 pm

    The gender issue is a tricky one. I once completely offended a poet by shaping a reading around the idea of women and the body. And yet, that was what ALL the poems I received as submissions were about. I guess I was supposed to…ignore it? Not see it? Still not sure.

Comments are closed.

