Skip to content

a river of stones update and short poem #30

February 1, 2011
tags:

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

///

These are varieties, in order, of peppers, tomatoes, beans and cukes. Certainly, this kind of sentiment is not new, but I decided to try and cheer myself up today (it’s snowing, AGAIN!) by looking through seed catalogs online (like burpee.com).

It definitely helps. It is no wonder winter is so devastating — look at all the color we’re missing! (Plus, I found lots of ideas for poems.) Though my grandparents on both sides were big gardeners, I have only had a few successful gardens of my own. It is fun to fantasize about being a gardener, and it is meaningful (even if I won’t actually order any seeds) to do at this time of year what my grandparents did: imagine spring seedlings and summer plants and fall harvests. Being filled with desire is much more fun than succumbing to defeat (did I mention it’s snowing, AGAIN?)!

///

I organized the file of small stones I wrote in January and in doing so decided to continue writing them. I know I will not manage it every day, but I do like idea of continuing some sort of short-poem writing practice.

I re-numbered the stones (I had missed one; I had written 29 before this one) so that I can keep track of the number of 2011 stones (not just the January stones). I am also going to call them, generically, “short poems,” instead of stones, because not all of my short pieces have been “moments of noticing”/observation that distinguishes small stones among other short forms.

I am a free-range short-poemer. Or something. 🙂

3 Comments
  1. February 1, 2011 4:20 pm

    I am so glad you will continue. I am going to try, although without the collective, I might be now and then.

    I am watching your snow and hoping it doesn’t turn south.

    Free-range? Makes you sound like a chicken…or an egg 🙂

  2. February 1, 2011 4:57 pm

    Ha! Ever inventive. I imagine you also cage-free. Not vegetarian fed, but still. Free run.

  3. February 2, 2011 7:47 pm

    I’ve really enjoyed your stones, er, short poems. Whatever, you call them. I never know either, but I’ve gotten used to stones. I’m glad you’re going to keep writing them. I am too. Doing this has had a recharging effect for me.

Comments are closed.

