Skip to content

this mom goes back to work: confessions

March 8, 2011

I suppose the first confession should be that I have been sporadic in my Tuesday confessions since I made a comeback earlier this year. But I never promised you a rose garden. And no one’s really counting. Here are my confessions after seven days back in the workforce:

I confess that even though yesterday’s storm was a giant hassle for everyone, it was also really beautiful. And no, this doesn’t mean I like winter. And no, it doesn’t mean I have forgiven winter for a really difficult season. These photos were taken Monday evening as I left the office.

That is not my office building in the photo on the left. It is (obviously) down the road. Though my office building looks pretty much exactly like that one. In the second photo, the tiny white fleck in the center is the crescent moon. I confess I cannot hold my iPhone still enough for it to focus properly. Every photo I take is blurry.

The one on the far right is the view out my front door. The sky cleared up midday yesterday, and the sun came out. It was the most beautiful kind of light. It wasn’t winter light, either. It was some strange new variety that I hope we have the chance to explore some more very, very soon.

I confess that I was less frazzled about the kids having a snow day yesterday than I every imagined I would be. And, strangely, less frazzled about it than I was before I started working. I was able to get in a few hours in the morning by telecommuting, and in the afternoon, I asked for help, and I got it.

I confess that I love my iPhone too much. And I confess that I can’t figure out how to stop all its blips and squeaks from 5 million notifications.

I confess that I like the work I’m doing at this new job so much that I feel guilty letting them pay me for it. But of course I’m going to let them pay me for it.

I confess that “hose monster” is a fabulous code word for the male appendage. You can thank the show Glee for disrupting this episode of “this mom goes back to work.” Yes, I am a Gleek.

I confess I can’t think of anything to follow “hose monster.”

Go see other confessions here!

3 Comments
  1. March 8, 2011 9:27 pm

    Hose monster.

  2. March 8, 2011 9:55 pm

    I confess I am so very proud of you for going back to work, and happy that you’ve had a successful first week. You ROCK!! XOXO

  3. March 8, 2011 10:37 pm

    Awesomeness, and it is all code for happiness. (Ref. my FB note.)

    And I am so glad you mentioned the monster or I would have missed Glee.

    (This is the one time I am thankful we are 3 hours apart.)

Comments are closed.

