Skip to content

napowrimo #2 or, on learning raccoons are violent

April 2, 2011

Another Big Tent Poetry prompt for NaPoWriMo is “Write about being afraid of an animal.” I generally do not fear animals, but I did fear this one on this day. I feared my own reaction more, though, and I think I’ve always wanted to write about it.

I was surprised that this story emerged from the prompt, but that’s what prompts do. Dah-do do. And yes, I know I promised a general note about NaPoWriMo, and I will get to that at some point. But one thing I have learned about these poem-a-day challenges is write first; talk second (if there are still hours in the day).

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

///

Go see what others are posting this weekend at the regularly-scheduled we-do-this-all-the-time Come One Come All gathering at Big Tent Poetry.

12 Comments
  1. April 2, 2011 9:23 am

    I adore this poem.

  2. April 2, 2011 9:51 am

    Amazing, Carolee!

  3. April 2, 2011 11:02 am

    Wow. That’s really brilliantly done.

  4. April 2, 2011 1:33 pm

    Well, I’ll certainly never look at them the same way again… o_O

  5. April 2, 2011 4:43 pm

    Oh my goodness, what a heartbreaking poem 😦 But very beautiful and well-done. Personally, I really distrust raccoons every since I tried to chase a big, fat, family of them off of my porch and they were very hard to intimidate. They just stared at me like big, stupid thugs, and ambled off eventually, but it bothered me that they weren’t very scared at all. Bleh. They’re cute and all, but they are no doubt predators.

  6. April 2, 2011 4:57 pm

    Excellent, indeed, and perfectly capturing their role.

    I’m originally from Florida, where raccoons are scary. The vast majority are rabid. Crossing UF’s campus, I sometimes was faced down by a pack. They don’t run away. They turn and face you. Then start chittering. Loudly.

    I’m not afraid of the raccoons. I’m afraid of the virus.

  7. April 2, 2011 9:08 pm

    Good work! It might be worth pointing out, for those inclined to take sides here, that squirrels will often eat baby birds in the nest if they find them.

    • April 2, 2011 9:13 pm

      Great point, Dave! I know that about squirrels, but I have never witnessed it. And of course, we (many of us) eat meat, too. I think it would make a terrible poem if I balanced it all out, though. 🙂

    • April 2, 2011 11:14 pm

      To be fair, pretty much every occasional meat eater will eat baby birds, even other birds.

  8. April 2, 2011 9:19 pm

    hey hey carolee…great words and thanks for sharing…..long live the racoooooooooooooons

  9. Sarah Thomasin permalink
    April 3, 2011 6:55 am

    Love this. Nature /= cute.

  10. April 3, 2011 9:53 am

    apt hooking words.
    well played.
    🙂

Comments are closed.

