Skip to content

napowrimo #4, a.k.a. the lunch break poem

April 4, 2011

OK kids. This is what happens when NaPoWriMo is on the line and you have a full day of work followed by a graduate class followed by drinks with friends: you have to write your daily poem on your lunch break.

And you don’t have time to find the prompts and so you read the poems that are delivered to your mailbox every day like this one the Academy of American poets sent me today.

Here is my attempt at a poem:

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

///

Sappy, yes. And probably incomplete. But lunch is over. And I must leave it.

12 Comments
  1. April 4, 2011 12:42 pm

    But I love the idea of it. Worth revisiting, I think. I hope you are as happy as your voice sounds, even while being crazy busy.
    m

    • April 4, 2011 4:44 pm

      i will revisit it. it has some energy for me, but i ran out of time. šŸ˜¦

      thanks!

  2. April 4, 2011 2:59 pm

    Your eyes are like
    the sparkle on the water

    And they’re like
    the sun-illumined sky

    Your are eyes are like the water,
    though they’re dry

    When they are not cloudy
    they’re the sky

    Also very like two berries
    in a pie

  3. April 4, 2011 3:18 pm

    I like your re-designed page, poem’s nice too.

    • April 4, 2011 4:45 pm

      thanks, dan! i just (finally) utilized the full features of my sidebar and fixed the fonts. šŸ™‚

  4. April 4, 2011 6:54 pm

    I feel you on the lunch break business. Which is why it’s nice to have the Big Tent prompts all lined up in advance. šŸ˜€ Do you keep scribbling paper at the desk? Maybe check prompts in the morning, then add a word or phrase as they occur through the day, and cook them into a full-on poem only when there’s time?

    • April 5, 2011 8:34 pm

      that’s a great idea, joseph!! i have printed some of the prompts and will keep them in a folder near my desk. i will attempt to keep one of them on my mind throughout the day and jot down things that come to mind. that sounds like a great thing to do after napowrimo, too! thanks!

  5. April 5, 2011 12:28 am

    We’ll take what we can get. I like the sappy. And I think it’s great to bounce off Armantrout. šŸ™‚

    I did a 10-minute bus-ride free-write then “polished” it off with a scotch after chorus tonight.

    Nighty-night! xoxox

    • April 5, 2011 8:35 pm

      bus free-write — great plan! and, of course, the polishing of it with scotch is genius! heading over to catch up on your poems!

  6. April 5, 2011 1:08 am

    Great poem Carolee, the long voyage that’s just begun…

    • April 5, 2011 8:36 pm

      the long voyage in a beloved’s eyes or the long voyage that is napowrimo? šŸ˜‰

Comments are closed.

