Skip to content

napowrimo #9, or my superpower is missing

April 8, 2011

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

///

This was inspired by Kelli’s prompt #2 (there’s a link in the sidebar). When I use Kelli’s prompts, I try to make myself use them in order. This is the second one I’ve used this month, and so I wrote to #2 (see how it works?): Write a poem about a superhero coming to your house and confronting you about something. Somewhere in the poem, you have to state what your superpower is.

So I almost did what I was told. A superhero (me) comes to my house. But I forgot to include my superpower. I’m thinking it doesn’t matter to this poem, and I’m thinking it may just make it seem trite to give her a superpower. Of course, I waited ’til the last minute to write this tonight, and so I could just be too tired and lazy to imagine a superpower for the heroine.

14 Comments
  1. April 8, 2011 10:45 pm

    You mean your super power isn’t the ability to be all things to all, maid-mommy-crone?

  2. April 9, 2011 12:24 am

    Oh, this is fabulous. No one does this stuff like you.

    • carolee permalink
      April 9, 2011 8:22 am

      not sure what it is i do, but i have fun doing it!

  3. April 9, 2011 2:09 am

    Oh Carolee, you are so brilliant here!

    • carolee permalink
      April 9, 2011 8:23 am

      thanks, uma! so nice to see you!

  4. April 9, 2011 2:35 am

    A superpoem, Carolee, full of shazam and ker-pow! And the superpower is the day-to-day actuality of mum-hood. But two items are unaddressed:
    what is your normal-world identity?
    what is your Achilles’ heel?

    • carolee permalink
      April 9, 2011 8:25 am

      thanks for your comment, dick! and i think it would deepen the poem to expose her weakness … though in thinking about it, it could be her desire for love as hinted in the end … good thoughts! thanks!

  5. April 9, 2011 8:28 am

    A super-idea brought to fruition. Lovely fun.

  6. April 9, 2011 10:47 am

    This is playful and fun, delightful to read. I love how you incorporate the idea of talking in speech balloons – and the sound effect words throughout just work so well, especially in the last line. I’m intrigued by the sidekick – there’s an idea that I might fashion into a poem.

  7. April 9, 2011 11:59 am

    Super powerful and finely fun!

  8. April 9, 2011 12:38 pm

    I figured the babies-related superhuman hearing and speed was the power. But then, maybe that’s just par for the course in being a mom…

    That image of you (presumably) bursting into the house and addressing your husband with “We meet again!” is fantastic.

  9. April 9, 2011 3:59 pm

    This was really fun….villains beware. clever, clever. vb

  10. April 9, 2011 7:16 pm

    Yeah, dead good! I bet you had FUN!! writing this.
    I think your superpower is revealed in lines ten and eleven.

  11. April 10, 2011 1:07 am

    The only thing I can possibly say is SHAZAM! And it is not enough to respond to the heart & power of your poem. DAMN. (In that good way.)

Comments are closed.

