Skip to content

napowrimo #10, or chicks dig their own graves

April 9, 2011

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

///

Bah! I was inspired by a Big Tent Poetry Prompt from Week 2 (the link is in the sidebar): “Write a poem that starts, ‘I am sorry about _____.'” And once I started, I had an idea I haven’t been able to execute here. But maybe someday.

And the title of the blog post? I just felt like the more I fretted over trying to steer this one in the direction I wanted it to go, the more it resisted. Diggin’ a hole. Diggin’ a hole. No idea what it’s about or what it’s saying, though I do know what I would like it to say eventually. So that’s good. That’s one thing I like about NaPoWriMo. I think I find things I wouldn’t find when I’m being stingy.

Time to set it loose and get some sleep.

5 Comments
  1. April 9, 2011 9:32 pm

    i like! i like!

  2. April 9, 2011 9:44 pm

    Quite neat… and messy, in its way. The parenthetical links the parts wonderfully.

    (You actually let the chicken bleed out and practically fall asleep. Running around like that ruins the meat via acids produced by anaerobic respiration…)

  3. April 10, 2011 12:15 am

    Oh, there’s lots here.

  4. April 10, 2011 1:09 am

    That chicken is my heroine. And my foil. That’s all.

  5. April 10, 2011 8:08 am

    I’m loving this month. I get nothing done because my brain shuts down. It’s odd. Give me nine minutes to write to a prompt and I’m gold. Tell me a poem a day and my brain puts up the shutters. But I am reveling in your poems. You will have thirty pieces to play with at the end, and the chicken will make you laugh. Clearly I need someone to crack a whip. Meanwhile I’ll be vicarious through you.
    margo

Comments are closed.

