Skip to content

napowrimo #15, or a sestina in first draft

April 14, 2011

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

///

We are working on sestinas for class this week, and here is my first attempt. A NaNoWriMo-style attempt. This doesn’t quite get down to anything. Boo. Maybe I can amp it up before class on Monday. One thing I like about attempting the sestina is that it is impossible to predict, as you write, where it’s going to take itself. (I like the surprise of it.) One thing I do not like about attempting the sestina is that if you’ve made a wrong turn, it’s hard to recover.

10 Comments
  1. April 14, 2011 7:11 pm

    ha! i numbered it wrong. it’s #14. tomorrow, i’ll have to write “another” #15.

  2. April 14, 2011 8:17 pm

    I love … there is no better rush of pleasure than this idea of a rebellion.
    and … We wasted a lot of time on rain.

    This is beautiful. The words flow naturally. Great word choice, by the way. It certainly shapes story. Love it.

    • April 15, 2011 4:59 pm

      Thanks, Brenda. I chose the words and then wrote. It’s fun to see what emerges that way. It is an example of what people talk about (I think) when they say that restrictions (like those in form) help writers be inventive.

  3. April 14, 2011 8:27 pm

    I think it works well! I once wrote a sestina about trying to write a sestina…

  4. April 15, 2011 8:00 am

    Thrilling poem, and wonderful to see the sestina form. I will share this with my workshop! We need to try the sestina, too!

    • April 15, 2011 5:00 pm

      Oh, good! From my class to yours. Let torture spread throughout the land!

  5. Marilyn Zembo Day permalink
    April 15, 2011 2:26 pm

    I think it’s just amazing. You’ve inspired me– you know I love sestinas, think they’re a challenge to write. And I haven’t been writing poetry at all, not it months. May be time to take up the poet-pen soon!

    • April 15, 2011 5:01 pm

      Thank you, Marilyn! I used the worksheet you gave our little group ages ago!!

  6. April 15, 2011 8:57 pm

    Good luck with the Sestina! They can be hell to write. Here’s a link to a silly one I did.

    http://sewina.blogspot.com/2009/01/andy-sewina-they-said-ive-got-to-write.html

Comments are closed.

