Skip to content

i have a poetry headache, or a hiatus from napowrimo

April 17, 2011

This was an insane weekend of poetry in Upstate New York. Albany Poets hosted a 12-hour open mic yesterday from 7 a.m. – 7 p.m. followed by a few hours of featured performers. Today, the Voorheesville Poets hosted the Second Annual Smitty’s Tavern Poet Laureate Competition noon – 4 p.m. Layer on top of that writing a poem-a-day this month? Layer on top of that reading about poetry for class, writing a short paper about poetry for class and working on a poem for class? Ay ay ay. Even I, who like immersion, have to admit that’s a lot of poetry!

In addition, the last week or so has been really sucky and tomorrow is the second anniversary of my mom’s death. I’ll be busy enough (work 9-to-5 and then class 6-to-9), but I am also going to be drained. And so I am giving myself today and tomorrow off. A hiatus from NaPoWriMo. I am not holding out hope that it’s a paid sabbatical, but I’m going to just do it anyway.

In a different life, I would be skipping NaPoWriMo to party with my pal Deb who turned 28 today. Happy Birthday, my dear! Wish I could be there to drink a toast!!

6 Comments
  1. April 17, 2011 9:36 pm

    You get it off. And if my Lotto number comes through, it *will* be a paid sabbatical. We can hope, right? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Thank you for your incredible math skills. Love them more now than ever. xoxox

    • April 22, 2011 8:48 pm

      in our house, it’s called “mommy math” and it suits me just fine. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Carol H. Jewell permalink
    April 18, 2011 9:29 am

    Carolee,
    You write so beautifully, you never cease to amaze me.

    Yesterday was the 8th anniversary of my mother’s death. You have my empathy.

    Carol

    • April 22, 2011 8:48 pm

      Thanks, Carol. For the compliment. And the empathy. Sorry you lost your mom, too!

  3. April 18, 2011 9:56 am

    No wonder you have a headache. Yes, take a break. Sending sympathy from afar for the ongoing grief, and hopes for the resumption of joy after rest.

Comments are closed.

