Skip to content

a weekend of things

May 8, 2011

Saturday was for Carolee-time in Albany. I had lunch alone and walked around the perimeter of the Tulip Festival, never venturing into the interior of the park.

In the afternoon, I went to Kingston with friends for a reading. We had sushi and sake, and then Jill and I, along with Chris Wheeling, featured in this installment of Rebecca Schumejda’s reading series at Half Moon Books.

Afterward, we went to what I refer to as a town-ie bar. And it was such a pleasure chatting with the Kingston-area poets. It’s really incredible how many important friendships I have developed through poetry. I’m a lucky girl.

I had an emotional trip home, all of a sudden and out of nowhere, overwhelmed by grief and fear about my mom. I cried long into the night, too. Sneaky, grief is. How it reveals itself. How it overtakes things when and where it decides to.

As a result of having been up most the night, I bailed on the Mother’s Day run I’d planned and also on an open mic this afternoon in Troy. I spent the day lounging on the couch, which was exactly the right thing to do. I wrote a poem, which I’ll share with you tomorrow, and made fish tacos with Dave and the boys for dinner. Fish tacos are my favorite. They were delicious.

In addition to the transgression/indulgence of spending the day on the couch, I lost my mind and ate two hot dogs (from the grill) for lunch. Previously, I had been doing great eating “only fish” for meat. I’m committed to it. But I’m human, too. I’m going to eliminate dairy eventually, too. I intend for the only animal product I eat on a regular basis to be fish. But we’ll see. It’s a work in progress.

And, to present to you the understatement of 2011, I have a lot going on at the moment. I’m not interested in being a vegetarian or vegan or anything that necessarily has a clean label. But I know what I’m aiming for: Fish. Fruit. Vegetables. Grains/beans. And beer. Duh.

5 Comments
  1. Kimberlee permalink
    May 8, 2011 7:10 pm

    It was mom… the hot dog thing… I rarely eat them either, but today I had a craving for one… She wanted hot dogs for her birthday/mother’s day.

    • May 8, 2011 7:20 pm

      thank you! i’m so glad you put them in this perspective for me. how can i feel bad now? i am off the hook!!! yay!

  2. Cheryl A. Rice permalink
    May 8, 2011 7:28 pm

    Poetry has saved my life, C. I know it will yours. And this morning I found myself crying about missing my grandmothers, gone 24 and 6 years respectively. And yes, it is odd how grief will pop in whenever it likes… but beer does clear a path!! xo

    • May 8, 2011 7:30 pm

      thank you, cheryl. you’re fabulous. yes, beer & hormones clear the way for lots of things. probably the least of our worries should be grief. 🙂

  3. May 8, 2011 11:31 pm

    oxo

    yet grief is a good clarifier, if it doesn’t clog up the other stuff in the process.

    my favorite word really is “tricky”.

    really. has been for years. xoxoxoox

Comments are closed.

