Skip to content

what’s right in front of me

October 19, 2011

I figured out that another bad writing habit I have acquired (second only to not writing at all and a close cousin to waiting for things to make sense) is this odd notion (where did it come from?) that I have to look back in time and make connections and package things up with some kind of perspective. Blech. I hate poems that do that. Why did I get stuck in that place in my head? I had forgotten that if I look at what’s right in front of me, there’s an organizing principle all its own at work. Duh.

So, the title (working title only, I think) of this draft is inspired by that realization. (You’ve been warned that they don’t make any sense, right?)

POEM REMOVED FOR EDITING

4 Comments
  1. October 20, 2011 8:03 am

    I love this poem. Also, I find myself so often saying to poets in workshop, “Write about what’s right in front of you,” which is what I do (or also tell myself to do!) Of course, the gift, and you’ve found it here, is how so much is right in front of you!

  2. October 20, 2011 7:36 pm

    love it Carolee. You are amazing. Do you know that?

  3. October 25, 2011 7:26 pm

    What they said, Carolee.

Trackbacks

  1. 10 Poems | Coyote Mercury

Comments are closed.

