Skip to content

A hodge-podge from dreams and journals

September 8, 2010
tags:

I have been quarreling with this one off and on all day. I can’t get it just right. In some versions, it jumps too dramatically from image to image. In other versions, the images aim at each other too directly and lose their odd, chaotic quality. The odd quality is important because it’s a piece built on juxtapositions of things that don’t necessarily make sense together.

In an attempt to get back into a regular writing habit, I’ve been reviewing some notes about dreams and random lines for poems in my journals. Today, I gravitated toward a dozen or so of them and tried to use them to tell a story. Not a true story. Not even a story that makes sense. But a story that might explain a feeling of loss.

It’s not entirely successful. But that’s ok. It’s another draft. And I am always happy to have a new piece to work with in the world.

POEM REMOVED FOR EDITING.

2 Comments
  1. September 8, 2010 4:01 pm

    I thought it was very successful… down to the empty tickle in my stomach, and the giant lump in my throat. Thanks for sharing.

  2. September 9, 2010 7:50 am

    I love your process notes, and what you’re doing here. xoxox!

Comments are closed.