Skip to content

a poem inspired by the post of a facebook friend

February 27, 2011
tags:

REMOVED FOR EDITING.

///

In trying to write today, I had two bits in my journal I wanted to use: the slow, hesitating snow and the image of throwing a mannequin into a dumpster. I had no idea what I would do with them until I saw a Facebook friend was taking down her Christmas tree just today. I’ve always imagined those discarded trees as abandoned bodies. And since her tree was artificial, this weird little piece was born.

I may take it to class tomorrow (#1 because I have nothing else to bring and #2 because it’s so weird I’d love to see what happens to it in workshop).

6 Comments
  1. Margaret Bryant permalink
    February 27, 2011 5:16 pm

    This is a wonderful poem. The metaphors are stunning. There is a resonance of anger and an ever present measure of wisdom at a great Ah Ha.

    Bravo! Bravo fpr the poetry as well as for the process of life that called thes words to such magnificent order.
    Margaret Bryant

  2. February 27, 2011 10:28 pm

    This feels like a lot more than it appears to be…

  3. February 28, 2011 12:08 am

    Carolee, I just love “That first night, you wore her head to bed
    instead of your own. Your husband did not notice,” something
    to be said of that I think. Well written piece.

  4. Dick Jones permalink
    February 28, 2011 1:59 am

    Glorious! Although as a member of the lampooned gender, maybe I should take issue!

  5. February 28, 2011 11:02 pm

    Totally feel you on the trees-as-bodies thing; wrote a poem about their piney corpses once too. But this is so much more than that… my instincts say this is an excellent feminist poem, but I don’t know enough about the philosophy to declare that. What I do know is that every line grips, and that ending is priceless.

    Hope Day 1 of the job went well. 🙂

  6. March 1, 2011 9:10 pm

    What a compelling read! I love it when disparate images collide to create something as wonderful as this. Well done.

Comments are closed.